Before I Awake

Standard

Image Detail

About three years ago, I picked this book up because it was on Oprah’s Book Club. I liked some of the other books she picked and the title of the book was provocative enough. At the time I was thinking, “I can use an awakening right about now, a real awakening to my life’s purpose.” Whatever that may be.

I purchased the book from Target and started reading, certain my life’s awakening was a few page turns away.

Needless to say, no such awakening happened. At least not that day. I read the first three pages and dismissed the book as absolute nonsense. I couldn’t understand a word he was saying. Something about a flower and the flower’s awareness or awakening. Clearly flowers don’t have awareness. Do They? I decided that New Age philosphy just wasn’t for me. I tossed the book on a shelf where it collected dust for about 3 years until 2 weeks ago.

A few weeks ago, a good childhood friend of mine mentioned she was reading the book in one of our text exchanges. I told her I had the book, but couldn’t follow. She said she had made it all the way to Chapter 6, Triggers. I was impressed and decided to give the book another shot.

This time the flower made perfect sense and that was only the beginning.   I couldn’t put the book down.

I wasn’t ready before, but now I am. My awakening has begun and that’s liberation.

Interested in reading Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth? Purchase at Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

